Iceland – The Northern Lights

Well the my favourite camera, a Nikon D90, that I have been holding together with a wing and a prayer and some gaffer tape for the last couple of months finally gave it up altogether – on the tour to see the Northern Lights.   And its official – I’m not good with anything else.   Fortunately I did have a back up camera with me and managed to get some shots with that – nothing to write home about but photos anyway.

So the Northern Lights – lots of standing around waiting for a clear sky as that is when you can see them with the naked eye.   But if you think you can see what could be a showing take the photo anyway – the camera picks up different light to the eye.   We did see one spectacular showing.   The lights danced and spun everywhere.  Well worth the wait.

Also it was freezing!

Waiting round in the moon light for another show.

Waiting round in the moon light for another show.

.

.

This was the best photo I got.

This was the best photo I got.  We could see this.  But not as vibrant.

Lights

Lights

See the green - the camera picked it up.   I couldn't see by eye.

See the green – the camera picked it up. I couldn’t see by eye.

Snow storm coming in.

Snow storm coming in.

This entry was posted in Iceland, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Iceland – The Northern Lights

  1. It seems that there was a lot of light pollution. i suppose if it was really dark, you would have been able to see more. Reykjavik excursions ?

    • Lizzi says:

      To be honest I think it looks like light pollution because of my lack of skill with the camera I ended up using. We’d driven a long way out of town, so the light pollution was minimal. As it turned out when we got back to the hotel there was a better show of lights there! I was so tired I was beyond caring by that point.

Leave a Reply

