Derry, Ireland

We’ve left Mayo after a fun week with the Howies relatives.   It was nice to meet them all.  The wind is taking layers of skin off my face it is so cold.   I’m wearing make-up now to try to protect my skin.   I’ve never worn so much make-up as I have in the last 18 months.

We were just going to stay overnight at Derry but it had much more to offer than we thought.   I guess I knew about the murals were there but in my head I thought they were in Belfast.   There are a lot more in Belfast as well but these were much more interesting.   A side note regarding them – they are decaying and will probably need to be restored in the not to distant future or they will just flake away.

The Craigavon Two

The Craigavon Two

Justice for the Craigavon Two

Justice for the Craigavon Two

Close up of one of the murals

Close up of one of the murals

Bogside

Bogside

.

.

Not all the murals are about The Troubles

Not all the murals are about The Troubles

.

.

A poster on the river

A poster on the river

Surprised to still see these sorts of signs

Surprised to still see these sorts of signs

This entry was posted in Ireland, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

